ComedyDublin Final 2010

I’ve had some LONG waits between booking gigs and the actual gig itself, but this Friday I’ll be doing a gig that I booked a full year ago- The ComedyDublin competiton final. As last years winner, I get to return and MC and I have to say, it’s something I’m really looking forward to. On top of giving me a chance to showcase the four jokes I’ve written since last year, it also gave me time to think back of the year gone by, of all the things that I’ve done since that night last June. There’s been a LOT of gigs since, but that night still sticks in my mind as being pretty special.

Look at the big happy head on me!

Say what you want about comedy competitons in general, there is a LOT to be said for winning them. It’s nice to have something to put on your CV, something that can show up in brackets after your name on posters (although somehow “ComedyDublin Competiton Winner 2009” got shortened to “Comedian of the Year 2009” on my CV… must have a word with my PR lady, get that one corrected).  Sure, there are far, far more comedians who get by just fine with no such competiton credentials, but its a feather in your cap: something to make you stand out in a crowd.   You’ll get your share of begrudgers, people who mock your win and play it down as a small step up from a Battle of the Axe win, or you only got through on the back of bringing your friends. Well, what can I say for begrudgers?

You said it, random internet guy!

To those guys competing in this Friday’s final, first of all I want to wish you good luck. Next, (and I know I spent a full week developing an ulcer before my final last year so I know this is  worthless advice) TRY to to relax and enjoy the night. I watched the video of my performance last year, and I can’t fathom how the fuck I won- shaking with nerves, mumbling lines, cutting jokes too short and standing stock still for fear of fainting. Have a good time! You wouldn’t be in the final if you weren’t doing something right.

To the winner, I have this advice; use it. Last years competition final was on a Sunday; on Monday, I had been on the phone booking gigs in The Laughter Lounge, The International, The Bankers, Capital Comedy… Get out there, get booking gigs. Don’t fall into the trap of thinking that promoters will start contacting you- you need to get out there and promote yourself. This is not the time to relax, this is the time to get out there and start kicking ass. Don’t sit around waiting on the phone to ring.

"Our next guest is some guy who won some competition last week..."

Don’t rest on your laurels, and DON’T BELIEVE THE HYPE. The hard work is only just starting, but I can promise you this much- if you put in the graft, you’re in for one hell of a year. And if you don’t win, it’s not the end of the world. My first year in comedy, I got to the ComedyDublin competiton and died on my hole… last place, shamed out of the building. I came back the next year, a little older, a lot wiser, and won the whole thing.

So that’s the Belvedere Hotel folks, Denmark Street… kickoff is at half eight on Friday. We’ve got a bunch of hungry comedians that are going to knock it out of the fucking park, plus I’ll be MC’ing to make sure no-one’s mates are sitting on their hands and not laughing, or other such cunty behaviour. Get in there, cheer these guys on, pick a favourite and crown this years ComedyDublin Comedian of the Year!

My money's on Dhalsim!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

